Tuesday, September 23, 2008

MacArthur "Genius" Grants announced

Each year the MacArthur Foundation selects between 20-30 "geniuses" from the arts and sciences and gives them each a $500,000 MacArthur Fellowship. Nice.

No poets this year. But poets have been pretty well represented in the past. Peter Cole, who is both a poet and a translator, got one last year.

Other poetic geniuses include A. R. Ammons, John Ashbery, Linda Bierds, Joseph Brodsky, Anne Carson, Amy Clampitt, Douglas Crase, Irving Feldman, Alice Fulton, Jorie Graham, Allen Grossman, Thom Gunn, Robert Hass, Daryl Hine, Edward Hirsch, John Hollander, Richard Howard, Richard Kenney, Galway Kinnell, Ann Lauterbach, Brad Leithauser, Campbell McGrath, Thylias Moss, Lucia M. Perillo, Jim Powell, A. K. Ramanujan, Adrienne Rich, Charles Simic, Mark Strand, May Swenson, Derek Walcott, Robert Penn Warren, Eleanor Wilner, C.D. Wright, and Jay Wright.

No comments: